Community
and Government Services

About Us

Our Mission:

Community and Government Services (CGS) works in partnership with community governments and assists them in building their capacity so that they can meet the needs of their residents. We provide programs and funding that support core municipal operation, infrastructure development, and land development. Support is provided to ensure training for councils and municipal employees is available. CGS provides a range of central services to other government departments and agencies to support the efficient and effective operation of their program and services. That includes procurement, sealift logistics and contracts services, property management and maintenance, technical and project management related to infrastructure construction, and information and records management services.

CGS is also responsible for services directly related to the public. That includes fire safety promotion, inspection and training; electrical and mechanical inspections of buildings; emergency management services including search and rescue coordination and training; consumer affairs; and acquisition and distribution of petroleum products for communities. These services require direct contact with community governments, the business community and the public.

Our Vision:

The Department of Community and Government Services believes we have a key role to play in supporting self-governing, sustainable communities that serve the social and cultural needs of their residents and contribute to Nunavut’s economic growth and social, cultural and environmental well-being.

We see a department that contributes to that vision by efficiently providing appropriate programs and services directly to communities and their residents and indirectly through the central government services provided to other departments and agencies.

Principles and Values:

The Department of Community and Government Services believes that:

  • Supporting Inuit Qaujimajatuqangit (IQ) is the context in which we develop an open and responsive department, incorporating traditional activities and values in our programs and services;
  • Partnering with community governments and stakeholders is the basis of developing cooperative, working relationships;
  • Training and learning promotes healthy, self-governing, and sustainable communities by building capacity. This will strengthen Nunavut and allow for increased self-reliance and community empowerment.
  • Demonstrating a service orientation to our clients means timely responses, a problem solving focus and maintaining a positive, helpful attitude. This is a key to providing efficient and effective services to communities and client departments.

Community
and Government Services

À notre sujet

Notre mission :

Le ministère des Services communautaires et gouvernementaux collabore avec les autorités locales et les aide à accroître leur capacité de répondre aux besoins de leurs résidents. Il appuie les opérations municipales essentielles, le développement des infrastructures et la mise en valeur des terres en offrant aux collectivités des programmes et du financement. D’autres mesures visent également à assurer la formation des membres des conseils et des employés municipaux. Le Ministère offre en outre un éventail de services centralisés à d’autres ministères et organismes gouvernementaux pour favoriser l’efficacité de leurs programmes et services. Ceux-ci touchent notamment à l’approvisionnement, à la logistique du ravitaillement par bateau et aux services contractuels, à la gestion et à l’entretien des biens immobiliers, à la gestion technique et à la gestion de projet relatives à la construction d’infrastructures, et aux services d’information et de gestion documentaire.

Le Ministère est aussi responsable de services qui concernent le public de près, en particulier la sensibilisation à la sécurité-incendie, la formation et les visites préventives à cet égard, l’inspection électrique et mécanique des immeubles, les services de gestion des urgences, notamment la coordination des opérations de recherche et sauvetage et la formation sur le sujet, la consommation, et l’acquisition et la distribution de produits pétroliers dans les collectivités. Ces services nécessitent un contact direct avec les autorités locales, le milieu des affaires et le public.

Notre vision :

Le ministère des Services communautaires et gouvernementaux croit fermement qu’il joue un rôle majeur en aidant les collectivités à devenir autonomes et durables, à répondre aux besoins sociaux et culturels de leurs résidents et à contribuer au développement économique, social, culturel et environnemental du Nunavut.

La vision du Ministère se concrétise grâce à son offre efficace de programmes et de services appropriés aux résidents des collectivités, lesquels en bénéficient de façon directe ou indirecte par l’intermédiaire des services gouvernementaux centralisés offerts aux autres ministères et organismes gouvernementaux.

Nos principes et nos valeurs :

Le ministère des Services communautaires et gouvernementaux adhère aux principes suivants :

  • L’intégration des activités traditionnelles et des valeurs de l’Inuit Qaujimajatuqagnit (IQ) en guise d’appui à la communauté est garante de l’ouverture et de la sensibilité du Ministère à sa réalité.
  • La collaboration avec les autorités locales et les intervenants communautaires est la pierre d’assise de relations de travail fondées sur la coopération.
  • La formation et l’apprentissage sont au cœur de collectivités en santé, autonomes et durables; ils renforcent la capacité des collectivités du territoire et assurent un Nunavut fort.
  • La rapidité, la bienveillance et la résolution de problèmes représentent la clé d’un service à la clientèle efficace et efficient lorsqu’il s’agit de répondre aux besoins des collectivités et des ministères.